Jonathan Temte, MD, PhD, MS

Jonathan Temte, MD, PhD, MS

Madison, WI – The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) has honored Jonathan Temte, MD, PhD, professor of family medicine and community health, with its 2018 AAFP Public Health Award. The prestigious award was given to Dr. Temte on October 10, 2018, at the AAFP Congress of Delegates in New Orleans. The award recognizes individuals who have made contributions to the health of the American public.

The AAFP notes several of Dr. Temte’s accomplishments toward public health. He provided leadership as chair of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices. Dr. Temte was the first family medicine physician to serve on the committee. He currently serves as chair of the Wisconsin Council on Immunization Practices.

“I am very excited to be chosen for this recognition of my commitment to public health,” said Dr. Temte. “In a broader sense, this award reflects the wonderful support I have had over many years from colleagues, friends and mentors at the Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene, the Wisconsin division of public health, Madison/Dane County Public Health, the UW Department of Family Medicine and Community health, the Wisconsin Academy of Family Medicine and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.”

Dr. Temte was also noted as a prolific author and an active presenter with an impressive number of publications and presentations. Topics include immunizations, the environment, and respiratory transmission.

Published: October 2018