UW-Madison logoCongratulations to Ronni Hayon, MD (Associate Professor, CHS) on receiving a 2023 Dr. P.B. Poorman Award for Outstanding Achievement on Behalf of LGBTQ+ People. Hayon was selected to receive the award for the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus; one person from Universities of Wisconsin campus is chosen each year. Winners are selected for their contributions to advocacy, activism, or scholarship that enhances the experiences of, and improves the climate for, LGBTQ+ people. Hayon was honored by the Universities of Wisconsin at a ceremony on November 9, 2023.

Founded in 2008, the award celebrates the legacy of UW-Whitewater’s Dr. Paula B. Poorman, a faculty member dedicated to improving the lives of LGBTQ+ people. Poorman’s efforts defined the identity of the systemwide Inclusivity Initiative and helped gain recognition from the wider university community.

Published: December 2023