Val Gilchrist, MD

Valerie Gilchrist, MD – Chair, Department of Family Medicine and Community Health

Welcome to the DFMCH’s FY19 annual report, a summary of our faculty and staff activities from July 1, 2018, through June 30, 2019. I’m grateful to all of our faculty and staff for their skill and dedication: our work depends on you!

In FY19, we provided care for 348,648 patient visits (153,465 total patient panel) in our 17 statewide clinics. We continued to improve patient care quality by implementing a pilot program to improve clinic access, appointment utilization, and patient satisfaction with scheduling; collaborating across primary care to advance behavioral health services; and partnering with communities to offer resources for patients in need of food, transportation, housing, employment, utility assistance and legal assistance.  In addition, several clinics received the Wisconsin Immunization Program’s “Big Shot” award for ensuring 90% of their pediatric populations are up-to-date on vaccinations; and four clinics are now offering medication assisted treatment (Suboxone and Vivitrol) to patients with a substance use disorder, while also training residents on how to deal with this important health issue.

We continue our commitment to educating primary care providers for Wisconsin.

  • Of the 44 residents in our sponsored and academic partner programs who graduated in 2019, 26 (59%) entered practice in-state.
  • We ranked eighth in Family Medicine Residency Programs in US News and World Report in 2019.
  • We taught 511 UW School of Medicine and Public Health students, and for the sixth time, the American Academy of Family Physicians named our Family Medicine Interest Group a Program of Excellence.

In addition, our researchers received $8.8 million in grant awards in FY19. Their work focuses on preventing and treating addiction and substance misuse, conducting surveillance for infectious diseases and implementing systems-engineering approaches for improving ambulatory care.

And don’t miss the numerous national awards our faculty received this past year, listed on pages 10-11 of this report.

Over the next year, we look forward to further improving how we care for patients, building on our educational partnerships, strengthening our research program and expanding our community health efforts. Because health lives here, in Wisconsin.

Valerie Gilchrist, MD
Millard Professor in Community Health
Chair, Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

FY 2019 Key Facts - Annual Report


Year in Review

DFMCH Annual Report 2019

July: 56 residents entered our statewide sponsored and academic partner programs.

September: Renee Crichlow, MD, presented the Farley Visiting Professor Lecture.

October: Jonathan Temte, MD, PhD, MS, received the 2018 AAFP Public Health Award; Ann Evensen, MD, received the 2018 AAFP Humanitarian Award.

November: An oral presentation by Paul Smith, MD, was selected as a distinguished presentation at the 2018 North American Primary Care Research Group annual meeting.

Byron Crouse, MD, received the 2018 Renner Award; Russell Lemmon, DO, received the 2019 Hansen Lectureship Award. David Deci, MD, received the AAFP Award for Distinguished and Meritorious Service to Family Medicine.

December: Jennifer Edgoose, MD, MPH, was selected as a University of Wisconsin-Madison Outstanding Women of Color.

Melissa Stiles, MD, was selected as the 2018 Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians Family Medicine Educator of the Year.

The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education conferred accreditation status—with no citations—on the DFMCH’s multidisciplinary addiction medicine fellowship.

March: 35 fourth-year UW School of Medicine and Public Health students matched into family medicine residency programs nationwide.

April: Randall Brown, MD, PhD, DFASAM, was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society.

May: Jonathan Temte, MD, PhD, MS, was selected as the new Associate Dean for Public Health and Community Engagement at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health.

The DFMCH honored 27 medical students, residents and faculty mentors at the McGovern-Tracy and Student Scholars Award ceremony.

June: Jonathan Temte, MD, PhD, MS, was selected for the AAFP 2019 Exemplary Teaching Award for Full-Time Faculty.

44 residents graduated; 26 (59%) entered practice in Wisconsin.

AAFP named University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health Family Medicine Interest Group a Program of Excellence for the sixth time.